Heart & Soul

whoever it was who said “home is where the heart is” was right…I think (if I understand it correctly)…. my actual beating heart is, right now, sustaining my body as it slumps on a couch with an orange pom sleeping underneath it…but my emotional, spiritual & mental heart is miles away…1,700 give or take…. in a couple of days, my beating heart will be joined again with my spiritual heart & I’ll be home with my 3 purring, swirling cats…& the beautiful tree outside my bedroom window, my motley community of crazy peeps, my car…. I have issues with my car…it was not what I would’ve picked out for myself…it belonged to my brother & I inherited it…along with all its quirks & discomforts…. but damn! I am sooooo grateful for that car…it gets me from Point A to Point B & it helps me to maintain my independence…. & I’m grateful for the friend who let me stow it in her backyard to protect it from the parking enforcement nazis…. & my apartment is small & it has no place to store stuff, but it is MY sacred space (well, when my cats allow it to be so) & I can be alone there & wear my flannel pj’s all day if I want to…. or I can go out the door & walk & run errands & not HAVE to drive & the streets are flat so that I can ride my bicycle (even though I never do ride my bike…well, at least I know that I CAN)…. I used to enjoy traveling, but not so much anymore…I miss the comforts that I have created for myself where I live — the unholy shenanigans, my feline & canine clients, the laundromat that’s only 3 blocks down the street, my Netflix subscription…. oh I can fit my heart into a suitcase occasionally & go & enjoy seeing a new sight…but when my heart & soul are undivided that is when I am most content….

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

About pjh95811

I am a writer and poet living in California. I love cats, dogs, nature, poetry, spirituality and the Pacific Ocean.
This entry was posted in This 'n' That. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Heart & Soul

  1. love the poem and that you will soon reunite your selves!

  2. loloatlarge says:

    There is no place like home!

Leave a Reply

