god in the small spaces

I was heading home at about 8pm the other night…my car’s trunk was filled with a ton of clean laundry, a bag of groceries & a tiny bit of a haul of on-sale items from the craft store.

As I was cruising up my street, I was going through all my usual routine thought processes: “god-forbid there should be a parking space right in front of my building” & “what day is this? what side of the street do I have to park on to avoid a ticket?” The second question was even more complicated than usual because Christmas Eve was on Friday & Christmas Day was on Saturday & somehow the concept of “Sunday” got lost in the shuffle….

And then, what to my wondering eyes should appear, but TWO parking spaces…a totally clear curb…in front of my apartment building. And as I rolled up to get my space, I went through my “now what day is this?” thing one more time & when at last satisfied, I put ‘er in park & even remembered to thank god for not forbidding the parking space, but for giving me such a wonderful laundry-day gift.

Tis not a tale of pomp & prestige: “55-year-old female pulls 12-year-old car into parking space in Sacramento, CA.” It’s not a story that will be featured on News At 10.

But it is a good story because god is in the good. And if I’m not paying attention to the good, I’m not paying attention to god.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

About pjh95811

I am a writer and poet living in California. I love cats, dogs, nature, poetry, spirituality and the Pacific Ocean.
This entry was posted in This 'n' That and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

