What’s On Your Mind?

I don’t miss Snail Mail.

Unlike the post office, online communication is fast, efficient and practically happens in real time. You can’t tear up an e-mail like you can a letter if you change your mind, but there is always the delete key. (I will admit however, that the one advantage of the letter sitting on the table by the door for the mailbox is that it does give the writer a tad more time to come to and feed it to the shredder.)

For those of us who are not big on talking on the phone, live chat is a gift from the gods. I don’t have kids or grandkids so I haven’t tried Skype yet, but I would probably like it because I like face-to-face conversation.

And, then there is FaceBook.

I know folks who, bless their hearts, boldly and proudly assert that they never go on FB, as if that is a superior way to exist or who throw out the old standby, “I’m on FB but I NEVER look at it…. Implicit in some (not all!) of these statements seems to be the notion that peeps who don’t do FB have Very Important Lives…and that the rest of us losers don’t.

I respect their choices and just listen and nod, uh-huh, uh-huh, all the while thinking, ” Well I guess you’ve never had a single freakin’ lonely day in your life. Isn’t that special….”

Mark Zuckerberg may be stealing some of my privacy (and I can’t even “Friend” him!), but while he is busy making billions of dollars, I have been having fun meeting many, many friends.

Hmmm…let’s see…friends? or $$$? friends or $$$? The Bottom Line (ha! a little accounting humor there!) for me anyway, is that friends are really a heckuva lot more valuable than $$$.

FB is a way to connect with people in the global village where, ironically, it seems to be getting harder and harder to…well…meet people.

And, like, you know how when people travel, they send post cards from far-off lands that don’t arrive til 10 days after the travelers have returned? Now peeps can send a travel photo with their phone and send it hundreds, even thousands of miles away — on the spot — in a matter of seconds!

For instance…just last night a FB pal visiting my hometown of Los Angeles sent me a photo of the downtown city lights taken from her hotel room. How cool is that?! A little bit of the City of Angels, 400 miles away, was cyberspaced to my Sacramento apartment.

Thanks to my online community, I’ve heard songs I’ve never would’ve heard before, learned new trivia, laughed at wonderful jokes, “met” cats and dogs from all over the world, seen remarkable videos, artwork, photos of nature and photos of places I have never been before.

But the best part is the people. I have buddies all over the world! Canada! Israel! Puerto Rico! Spain! England! And Michigan, Texas, Connecticut, Washington and Nevada in the United States. And, of course there are a ton of Californians!

There are all my farmer friends also…. The story about the peeps who snipe and snicker and say, “I NEVER would play FaarrrmVille” is for another day.

So what’s on my mind? I’m grateful for all my FB friends. I love and cherish them even though some of us have never met….

Yet! šŸ™‚

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

About pjh95811

I am a writer and poet living in California. I love cats, dogs, nature, poetry, spirituality and the Pacific Ocean.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s On Your Mind?

  1. karen says:

    I totally agree. Anti-facebook snobs really get up my nose. I think it’s great.

Leave a Reply

