When It Rains…

…it pours.

Everything is timing even though we mostly have no control of time. The clock has a way of ticking along, leaving us in the dust (literally and figuratively).

A little while ago I went out and walked my dog-friend Harry. I had determined that I’d get there by two and by golly, I did. That was my *plan.* Alas, a cloudburst of rain and a bit of hail arrived at the same time.

The sun had been shining for most of the morning so who knew that my best-laid-plans were in danger.

So we walked in the rain, Harry and I, since obviously the weather cannot be predicted, and it was impossible to know when it would end.

Harry was a great sport…he didn’t let the moisture bother him and he did what he needed to do without a lot of fuss. He even was rather peppy.

I had worn the wrong jacket so I was feeling…er…rather *damp,* but I was smiling because his doggely enthusiasm was catching.

When we got back to his abode, well, of course the rain stopped. Seriously…. We walked in the door and as I searched for a towel to dry the big guy’s fur, the sun came out.

So is this god laughing again, playing a little joke because he’s maybe feeling bored today? I mean…how else does it happen that a short window of time like that can border upon utter absurdity?

Timing…the world chugs along based upon its whims. Get to work on time; file your taxes on time; visit the dentist on time; make your last will and testament *in* time; make sure your watch has the “right” time.

And then there are all the rules that punish us for not being “on time”….

We are slaves to time and yet we have no way to revolt against it. Time does its thing in spite of us.

No amount of Botox or health insurance can change the ultimate outcome.

So I guess today I can take a lesson from my pal Harry…when ya gotta go, just go with the flow. Let the rain roll off your thick fur and keep bouncing along. Take advantage of the surprise when the door opens and there’s an unexpected guest who wants to take you out.

When it rains…have a good time. When the sun shines…have a good time. This is all the time we’ve got.

©February 2011 by Phyllis J. Hanniver

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

About pjh95811

I am a writer and poet living in California. I love cats, dogs, nature, poetry, spirituality and the Pacific Ocean.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Humor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

