Embrace

sometimes
  when the air
is just this side
of a fragile
brisk
  cold
I am reminded of
  your cypress & pine
embrace
  how you nurtured me
and let my tears
  mingle
with your gentle
  saltwater waves

gulls cried with me
  when I mourned
the shoreline wind
  circled ’round us
as we walked
  again & again
past the only god
  that can ever really be

are *you* the lover
  I’ve been longing for?

…patiently
  quietly
watching
  me distracted
by my oh-so-many
  romantic illusions

are you holding out
  your sunrise hand
hinting…
  whispering
    “Come back….”

or is this just a dream
  a wish upon an inland breeze
that makes me long
  to walk with you again?

©March 2011 by Phyllis J. Hanniver

About pjh95811

I am a writer and poet living in California. I love cats, dogs, nature, poetry, spirituality and the Pacific Ocean.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Embrace

  1. loloatlarge says:

    Wow! Love this Phyllis! So much in there — I could feel your heart. I continue to look forward to your pieces. ❤

  2. pjh95811 says:

    Thanks, lolo!!!! This truly is a *heart* poem! : )

Leave a Reply

