Blog This…. “He Dreamed It and He Did It”

Last night I finished watching “Despicable Me[Ed. Note: For about the 20th time!!] and when Gru goes to the moon – – he builds the rocket and he just gets right into it with no thought or wonderment…there is not one doubt in his mind that he cannot get to the moon.  He may not make it and he may die…but he gets in and buckles up and flies off to the moon and makes it.  And that is so great for kids to see this man do that…he dreamed it and he did it….

“He dreamed it and he did it.”  Gru and his Minions pulled together and, with no outside funding, built an amazing rocket ship.  And Gru, when the ship was completed, jumped in with no hestitation or fear and blasted off for the Moon.

And he made it!  He shrunk the Moon, stole it out of the sky and…continued on with his adventure!

“Despicable Me” is a cartoon of course, but it is about real life too.

We all have the ability to build our own specialized “rocket ships,” then climb in and blast off to catch our dreams.

So what stops some of us?

It is none other than the old bogeyman-under-the-bed, FEAR!

The poet John Berryman wrote, “We must travel in the direction of our fear.”  And so we must, else we will one day look back on a life unlived.

And it doesn’t have to be a “Big Fear” —  the nagging little fears are probably the ones that eat away at our souls the most.

One of my biggest fears over the course of my life has been that “people won’t like me.”  I could go into all the miserable childhood dysfunction that fed into that fear, but…I’m getting too old to have time for that crap.

The point is that sometimes, my fear has gotten in the way of my dreams.  And that sucks….

And the bottom line now is, that if someone doesn’t “like me” for whatever reason, well…I don’t have to let them into my rocket ship with me.  It’s MY journey to the Moon…I don’t have to bring along any excess baggage.

Sometimes I post stuff on FaceBook or write things in my blog that people don’t “like.”  Sometimes the stuff is dis-liked with such an intensity that it amazes me.

But…writing is my dream, my Moon, the thing that gives my life meaning.  Writing is who I am.  It is the reason that I get into the rocket ship everyday.

So if someone wants to “delete” me or “hide” me or “reprimand” me for what I write…well, bring it on.  Nobody is going to like everything I write.  And if someone doesn’t like ME for what I write, he or she can get off at the next Space Station rest stop.

One thing I’ve learned over the course of my many years is that “It’s none of my business what other people think about me.”  I’ve got enough complicated thoughts of my own circling around in my brain to have to make room for anyone else’s, real or imagined.

Gru, a loveable and brave misfit, built his ship and lived his dream.  It is so good for all of us to see that and learn from it.

Copyright May 2011 by Phyllis J. Hanniver

About pjh95811

I am a writer and poet living in California. I love cats, dogs, nature, poetry, spirituality and the Pacific Ocean.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blog This…. “He Dreamed It and He Did It”

  1. june gillam says:

    So true for me too *:)

  2. Shevy says:

    I love this. I realized that the minute I started blogging my friends split into two groups, those who love what I say and those who think I am self-centered and self-absorbed. But I keep writing anyway. Who cares?!

  3. pjh95811 says:

    Thank you so much, Shevy!! Write On!!! : )

Leave a Reply

