Alleluia

baffled
by the broken
flag
hoisted high
a tattered rag

I’d never really cared too much before

& then somebody
lit a lamp
blazing chords
a blown-out amp

reluctantly I stood outside the door

I learned too much
to be a fool
to breathe that crap
they taught in school

I cried to god don’t touch me
with the truth

but the moonlit dove
had flown away
sunlight scorched
both night & day

I fought
I screamed but what about my youth?

I can outdraw
the fastest gun
I walk I laugh
& seek out fun

but clouds still gather in the moonlit sky

& victory
is a letting go
shoot not to kill
just let ’em know

they can figure out the how & why

©May 2011 by Phyllis J. Hanniver

About pjh95811

I am a writer and poet living in California. I love cats, dogs, nature, poetry, spirituality and the Pacific Ocean.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

