My Dad….

My Dad never went to college but he’s the smartest man I know.

He owned and ran his own business for 40 years without an MBA.

He served in the United States Navy during World War II and to this day, he still walks with his “sea legs.”

All the “book learnin'” he’s ever needed he has found at the Los Angeles Public Library.

My Dad is the handsome-est guy alive!

He’s always been rather shy and quiet, but when first met his wife-to-be, he did not give up wooing her until he got her!

He married my Mom in 1952 and has been by her side, through the good and the bad, ever since.

My Dad has been a Republican for his whole adult life and I never understood why until last year. I’m glad I finally understand his point-of-view while he’s still around to know about it.

My Dad was always home for dinner every night after work. We always ate together as a family and he would always bring home stories to share about his day.

He took us on weekend trips to Palm Springs for many years — there are lots of sitting-around-the-pool shots in the old family photo album.

He drove us to Winchell’s Donuts to pickup goodies for the occasional Sunday morning treat. AND he drove us to Baskin-Robbins for the occasional ice cream sundaes and banana splits on Saturday evenings.

My Dad always graciously received all the neckties that we gave him as gifts year after year for his birthday and for Christmas.

He doesn’t say “I love you,” but he shows it. I’m grateful I can see it and feel it.

My Dad helped my Mom care for her mother when she had to go into assisted living when no one else in the family would lift a finger. And he was right there with her when their son died.

My Dad is a member of the Greatest Generation…the generation that truly knows what it means to fight for liberty, how precious freedom is, how to work hard for money, security, a car, a home.

I have not always realized how much he has to teach me, but I am finally starting to learn.

©June 2011 by Phyllis J. Hanniver

About pjh95811

I am a writer and poet living in California. I love cats, dogs, nature, poetry, spirituality and the Pacific Ocean.
This entry was posted in This 'n' That and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Dad….

  1. Pingback: Dad’s Day Without a Celebration | This & That – This or That

Leave a Reply

